News

Google Chrome will warn you if your logins have been stolen

Google is adding several new features to Chrome to keep you safe while browsing online. To start, the next time you try to login into a website, Chrome will warn you if your username and password were compromised in a data breach. It will also suggest you change any passwords you’ve reused.

Google is also adding real-time phishing protection to Chrome on desktop. To be clear, Chrome already warns you when it thinks you’re about to navigate to a website that will attempt to steal your information. However, Google says this new feature, which builds on the company’s Safe Browsing database, is now 30 percent more likely to warn you of a potential threat.

Moving forward, Chrome will also tell you when it thinks you’re about to enter your Google Account password into a suspected phishing website. Previously, you were only able to take advantage of this functionality if you had Chrome’s sync feature enabled. Now it will protect whether you’ve turned sync on or not. Additionally, Google says it will work with all the passwords you have stored in Chrome’s built-in password manager.

Google has tweaked the interface of Chrome to make it easier to see if you’re about to save a login on a shared computer or on a different profile. The reworked sign-in indicator is located to the right of the address bar and it will briefly show you the name of the person associated with the account. The redesigned menu item also makes it easier to switch between profiles, according to the company.

Google says it has made things easier for those accessing Chrome with multiple profiles on a shared device.

In the post on The Keyword blog, Google adds: “On desktop, you’ll see a new visual representation of the profile you’re currently using, so you can be sure you are saving your passwords to the right profile. This is a visual update and won’t change your current Sync settings. We’ve also updated the look of the profile menu itself: it now allows for easier switching and clearly shows if you are signed in to Chrome or not.”

(Visited 31 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.